About JSymphonic



JSymphonic is a free open source program for managing Sony's Walkmans. It can transfer music from/to Walkmans. Its aim is to replace SonicStage (only considering the "transfer" part, not the "JukeBox" part).


Sony's Network Walkmans released before mid 2007 need SonicStage to transfer music (as iPods need iTunes). But SonicStage is only available on Windows.

JSymphonic is an alternative of SonicStage coded in Java which can be run on Windows, Linux or MacOS. JSymphonic can be placed in the player itself to make your music available from any computer.

JSymphonic can transfer music from a computer to a Walkman or from a Walkman to a computer. Thanks to its "profile" feature, JSymphonic can store the configurations for several Walkmans on several computers.

Every models from NW-HD3 to NW-A80x are supported (you can consult the whole list here). ATRAC, MP3 and WMA files are supported and OGG, FLAC, APE, AAC, MPC and WAV files are transcoded within the application. FFMPEG is used to transcode files. Please consult the documentation to know how to install FFMPEG for your OS. Windows users can download FFMPEG from the download section.


Left to right: Properties window, Main window and Main window transfering (see more screenshots)


Available features

  • support generations 3 to 7
  • run on Windows, Linux and MacOS
  • support MP3, WMA and ATRAC files transfer directly (WMA is only supported by generations 4 to 7, it is transcoded for generation 3)
  • support OGG, FLAC, APE, AAC, MPC and WAV files transfer with transcoding using FFMPEG (FFMPEG must be available)
  • read tag (meta-data) from MP3, WMA, ATRAC, OGG, FLAC, APE and AAC files
  • profile feature: store configurations for several walkmans or/and computers
  • multi-lingual capacity (English, French, Turkish, Spanish, Swedish)
  • log to file (used mainly to debug)

Missing features

  • Generation 2 support
  • Cover support

  • playlist support
  • podcast feature
  • intelligent and sport features (for concerned models)


Copyright (C) 2007, 2008, 2009 Patrick Balleux, Nicolas Cardoso De Castro (nicolas_cardoso@users.sourceforge.net), Daniel Žalar (danizmax@gmail.com)

JSymphonic is hosted by SourceForge. (link to JSymphonic space on SourceForge).